Visual thesaurus ‘word maps’

Something I’ve just happily stumbled upon online is the visual thesaurus. I rate this idea, not least because when I plan out my own writing, I already tend to do it a lot like this: ie, starting in the centre of the page (main point) and radiating out from there with all sorts of ‘branches’ shading in extra thoughts and details.

If your thinking is more visual than linear, I’m seeing (visual again!) how this type of thesaurus could really work, but it does charge you to register after a few trial searches. I’ve been consoling myself with the surprising amounts of (free) writerly fun to be had browsing words with nice spider diagrams and pondering those Collins old words perilously close to extinction. Say it ain’t so!

All best, Claire

(A&CB, publisher Yearbooks)

Comments Off on Visual thesaurus ‘word maps’

Filed under Writing Advice

Comments are closed.