Rosey Darbishire – what inspires her?

Today’s guest blogger is Rosey Darbishire, winner of our Writers’ & Artists’ 2009 short story competition. Rosey has already enjoyed some success writing radio plays, but winning the competition has been a high point for her, she says. Knowing that a lot of you have been keen to find out more, we asked her to share what inspires her and why she writes…

Recently I was ordered into a tiny red plastic Postman Pat van by a three-year-old. He told me that I had to stay there. As I sat, knees to chest, I thought about the power children have over those who love them. That was the start of In the Wendy House and a milestone after many years of hopes, and a few years of hard work.

I’m proof of the ‘don’t give up’ school of positive thinking. As a little girl I wanted to be an ‘authoress’ like Enid Blyton, but career choices were limited in those days and I became a teacher instead. I’ve also been a shop assistant, researcher and counsellor in between years and years of being a housewife. (I’m married to a retired GP, live in Cumbria and have three grown-up children and two grandchildren.)

When the phone rang the other day I picked it up thinking it was the septic tank man. It wasn’t (he still hasn’t been!) and instead it was the news to say that I had won the Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook competition. I’m not sure I reacted adequately; I didn’t shriek or squeal or say, ‘Oh my God, oh my God, oh my God!, and must have been a disappointment to the girl letting me know. Later that day it became real and I sent emails and made phone calls and generally bragged, and it was all very exciting. It has been the high point since I determined to write seriously – and be published – some years ago.

This began when I joined a group of ten called ‘Rural Women’. We met once a month, and communicated by email as we lived great distances apart. Gradually we developed a script that became a radio play and was broadcast on Radio 4 in 2006. Four of us went on from this to become ‘Mothers’ Ruin’, and over the last year have written and performed our work. A bottle of champagne is in the fridge waiting to be shared with those three writing friends – they have been a great support and inspiration. Before this my successes were a few short scripts performed locally and a story published in a women’s magazine.

‘In The Wendy House is a gloomy piece, so it might be a surprise to learn that I really like writing humour, and my favourite form of writing is dialogue. I have two radio plays that I am working on at the moment. I write in the afternoons, when I can’t put it off any longer and lead an ordinary life – I haven’t travelled, run a marathon, a brothel, or a bank. I am just the mother of three grown-up children. Perhaps winning this will be the start of a more exciting life – and I do clean up well for cover photographs…

Rosey Darbishire

5 Comments

Filed under Competitions and Offers

5 responses to “Rosey Darbishire – what inspires her?

  1. Nadja

    Congratulations to Rosey.
    And how inspiring to read her story. I find it most interesting to learn how other writers tick! Wishing her all the best for the future.
    Nadja

  2. Ed

    It’s great to have some background information on an author after you’ve read their work.
    Well done Rosey – I did enjoy ‘In the Wendy House’ – it didn’t waste a single word (which is rather more important for a short story than for a long one, I suppose!) and seems much longer in the memory than on the page.
    I shall keep an ear out for more of your work in the future.

  3. Larry

    I weep for writing.

  4. gordon henry

    Was the judge of the writing competition having a laugh? “In the Wendy House” is exactly the sort of dreary, uninspired banality that gives many short stories a bad name. No wonder publishers don’t want to publish them if the “best” of a large competition cannot rise above this level.

  5. I suspect gordon henry and Larry’s experience of staying at home with small children is limited….

    I pass judgment on people’s writing every day – and it’s important to remember there is a person at the end of the letter/webpage/email.