Get that tricky sentence structure sorted!

A quick pointer from guest blogger Cressida Downing

Currently I’m copy-editing a Danish non-fiction book which has been translated into English. It’s easy to get bogged down in long sentence structures and forget the overall sense of what is on the page. I’ve found that the best way to check a sentence is just to read it quickly out loud. Often that’s all it takes to realise what’s missing or what needs changing. You could try this with your writing today.

Yours, Cressida

1 Comment

Filed under Writing Advice

One response to “Get that tricky sentence structure sorted!

  1. I think this is a great idea, Cressida. I know that when I’m writing presentations for a sales conference or a workshop and I’m struggling on a particular sentence, if I say it out loud I’m able to find out where the problem lies and sort it out.

    Maybe I should have said that out loud!

    Warm wishes, Jo